This program documents, preserves and perpetuates the region’s rich cultural heritage in all North Slope communities. By working closely with regional educational institutions and each community, the goal of this program is to help make IHLC collections more easily and readily available to all stakeholders.

Oral history collections include traditional land use studies, historical accounts, photo collections, stories, legends and life histories.

Check out our archives on Past Perfect.

Contacts:

Vera Williams, IHLC Manager
Email: vera.williams@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 852-0422

Charles Sollie Hugo, Oral Historian (Anaktuvuk Pass)
Email: charles.hugo@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 661-2575  

Molly R. Ahkivgak, Oral Historian (Atqasuk)
Email:  
molly.ahkivgak@north-slope.org
Phone Number:  (907) 633-3900

Perry Pikok, Oral Historian (Point Lay)
Email:
  perry.pikok@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 833-4310

Raymond Edward Ipalook, Oral Historian (Nuiqsut)
Email:  raymond.ipalook@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 480-2920
Fax Number: (907) 480-6818

Rossellen Swan, Oral Historian (Wainwright)
Email: rossellen.swan@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 763-2091
Fax Number: (907) 763-2092