The goal of Village Affairs is to provide responsive service to the residents of the North Slope through the Village Deputy staff. To better address the needs of its residents, this division coordinates communications and workshops between the Borough, general public, village corporations, regional corporations, private sector, the State of Alaska and the federal government. This enhances communications and the participation of the residents so they are better able to voice their concerns and needs directly to the responsible entity.

The Tribal Affairs Advisor to the Mayor coordinates with other NSB departments and programs to assist tribal entities within the North Slope as requested.The goal of Tribal Affairs is to help strengthen the government to government relationship between the Tribes and the North Slope Borough. Tribal Affairs will support the tribal component of the tri-lateral model of community leadership within the communities of the North Slope by working closely with tribal governments when requested. The Tribal Affairs Advisor keeps the Mayor’s Office informed of tribal issues at the local, state and national level. 

Contact:

Harriet Reich, Advisor to the Mayor 
Email: Harriet.Reich@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 852-0200
Fax Number: (907) 852-0337

Susan Morry, Anaktuvuk Pass
Email: susan.morry@north-slope.org
Phone number: 907-661-3928
Fax Number : 907-661-3925

Della Shugluk, Atqasuk 
Email: della.shugluk@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 633-6815
Fax Number: (907) 633-6614

Steve Eric Leavitt, Nuiqsut
Email: steve.leavitt@north-slope.org
Phone number: 907-480-6028
Fax number: 907-480-6818

Tariek Oviuk, Point Hope
Email: Tariek.oviuk@north-slope.org
Phone number: 907-368-2630
Fax number : 907-368-2618

Sophie Tracey, Point Lay
Email: sophie.tracey@north-slope.org
Phone Number: (907) 833-2428
Fax Number: (907) 833-2528

Madeline Hickman, Wainwright
Email: madeline.hickman@north-slope.org
Phone number: 907-763-2091
Fax number : 907-763-2092

George T Kaleak, Sr, Kaktovik
Email: George.kaleak@north-slope.org
Phone Number 907-640-4305
Fax number: 907-640-6416